Machi-ya, St James

Another local restaurant that opened up a few months ago, this one touting itself as a Japanese comfort food restaurant. I’d take it!

The place is small and cosy, so you instantly feel at home. I went on my own, as I just wanted to get out of the office and no one was around to join…

I started off with the chicken balls or tsukune, the minced chicken skewers served with a soy/egg yolk mix to dip them in, and a shimichi pepper spice on the side, should I want them to be spicy. They were squidy feeling in my mouth and tasted okay, but to be honest, I think that the best thing about them was the extras, ie, the egg yolk, soy, and spice.

IMG_2957

But with this, I ordered one of the specials, the sea bass which was served with a  miso jalapeno sauce, and this was MUCH better. First of all, it was a very generous serving of fish for £9, and the fish was cooked perfectly. The miso jalapeno sauce gave it a nice extra kick, as did some of the grilled lime juice that I squeezed on it, but even on its own, the fish would have been quite nice.

IMG_2959

Shared with a market salad (and a sesame dressing), this was a perfect lunch, cosy and good. The specials board had a number of different other specials, including other types of grilled fish and roast pumpkin – you can bet that I’ll be back for those!

IMG_2960

One thought on “Machi-ya, St James

  1. Can’t wait to be back in London so you don’t have to go to lunch alone 🙂

    How was NYC? xx

    On Wed, Oct 11, 2017 at 6:23 AM alwaystimeforlunch wrote:

    > cdecourr posted: “Another local restaurant that opened up a few months > ago, this one touting itself as a Japanese comfort food restaurant. I’d > take it! The place is small and cosy, so you instantly feel at home. I went > on my own, as I just wanted to get out of the office ” >

Leave a Reply

