The Quince Tree, Clifton Nurseries, Maida Vale

A chilly Sunday afternoon, I met some friends up in Maida Vale for brunch. I’d walked through Clifton Nurseries before, but never eaten at their cafe, the Quince Tree. The cafe is located in a greenhouse in the middle of the nurseries… and since it was almost freezing out, felt really nice and cosy.

IMG_5287

I went for the Californian, two poached eggs served over a grilled mushroom and grilled “sun-blushed” tomato, some guacamole, and hummus, served on rye bread. It was supposed to come drizzled with a sweet chili sauce, but I asked for it on the side… and thankfully, as my friend’s came with it dripping in sauce.

It was pretty simple, and pretty good. I wish I’d had a bit more bread, given everything that was topping it… but good problem to have!

IMG_5288

Then, some buttered spinach on the side, as I felt like I needed more greens. Mmmm. Nothing like leafy greens in butter 🙂

IMG_5289

This was a great, different place for Sunday lunch… first lesson, make a reservation. We were lucky, as one table was a no-show, but in general, it’s packed. But there’s a good menu, daily specials, and a really cosy atmosphere… I’ll be back soon!

Leave a Reply

