Bread & Chocolate, Washington, DC

In DC for Thanksgiving with my family, we went to go see Bridge of Spies at the movies one afternoon (go see it, I really enjoyed it!)

Nearby is a French cafe that my mother loves, so she took us out for brunch beforehand. As I had already had breakfast earlier on (I’m currently in a toast and sardine phase, don’t ask…), I went for a soup. I had been craving French onion soup for a while, so ordered that.

This bowl was great… I don’t usually love French onion soups, as the bread to broth ratio (too much to too little) bugs me. But this one was great, with a small bit of bread and tons of broth, chock full of slices onions. And the cheese… dreamy. And tons of it. It really hit the spot.

 
IMG_4432

The others, not having had a meal yet, so they all went for various versions of the croissant sandwich, served with cheese, eggs and a choice of sausage, Canadian bacon, or bacon. Everyone chose a different meat. And the salad on the side was perfectly dressed with a balsamic vinaigrette.

IMG_4433

IMG_4434

The best part? It was so warm in DC that weekend… so most people were sitting outside. We chose not to, but what a luxury to have lunch outside on a November 28th!IMG_4435

Leave a Reply

