Kiku, Mayfair, London

Lunch with an old colleague that I haven’t seen in ages… at a restaurant that we used to go to all the time when we worked together, what a blast from the past!

Kiku is a very traditional Japanese restaurant in the heart of Mayfair, which is very affordable amongst the other, more expensive options.

I went for the sushi lunch, with a cucumber maki and tuna maki, along with seven pieces of sushi. And the thing is? I’d forgotten how good the sushi is here. A few pieces were just ok, but all were very tasty and fresh, and some melted in my mouth.

IMG_4074

Anna got a dish that I had forgotten about, that all of us used to order on repeat – the beef teriyaki. It comes  out on a hot plate with a ton of sprouts on top, still sizzling. And is very good, with the perfect amount of sauce mixed in… which later tastes delicious with all the sprouts! I’d forgotten about this great dish…

IMG_4075

It had been a few years since I’d been to Kiku, and I have to say, I can’t remember why I stopped going! It’s great, and affordable. What’s not to like?!

Leave a Reply

