Tortas Fronteras, ORD, Chicago

Monday morning, I got off my early flight to Chicago and was a bit peckish… and walked straight by Tortas Fronteras in the airport. This isn’t the first time that I’ve eaten there, but it had been a while, and I was excited to try the food again.

IMG_0377After standing in a 15 minute queue (popular place!), I was able to choose my torta… I wasn’t in the mood for meat, so was chosing between the shrimp torta and the mushroom one… I finally went for the mushroom mix.

IMG_0379

The roasted mushroom torta included cremini, shitake and oyster mushrooms, a smoky garlic mojo, poblano rajas (delish), goat cheese, black beans, and wild arugula. I tasted everything but the black beans. The roasted mushrooms were all delicious and plump, and the arugula and goats cheese gave different but really nice flavours that cut through the rajas and mushroom. Amazing.

IMG_0380

And as a side, the chips and guacamole. I had planned on eating everything in my hotel room in Chicago, but the line for the taxi was so long that I got started on the chips and guac on the way… The chips had a bit too much salt on them, but the guacamole was fresh and perfectly seasoned.

IMG_0378

 

Leave a Reply

