Knife, Dallas

So, then, two days in Dallas. I stayed at the Highland Dallas, which has an Exhale Spa (and core fusion classes), a huge pool and a nice gym. Since the weather was crappy and I was tired, I spent both nights eating at the hotel restaurant, which happens to be one of the hottest new steak restaurants in Dallas at the moment.

You start your dinner off with a crudite plate- several raw veggies with a green goddess dip. In the corner, you can also see the piece of beef jerky (homemade, of course) that they’ve added to the plate – it is a meat restaurant, after all!IMG_8748

 

Then, because I still felt like I needed more vegetables, I had the beet salad with walnuts, goat cheese, watecress and endive. It was fine, but the presentation was much better than the taste… the beets had been pickled in something (and I don’t like pickled dishes!)

IMG_8715For the main course, I got the steak, even though it felt like a bit much. The kitchen staff suggested the flatiron, which isn’t as large as some of their other steaks on offer… And it was delicious. Perfectly cooked (medium rare) and juicy. The roasted garlic was a great compliment, sliding out of its casing and melting in my mouth!

IMG_8717

As I was sitting at the bar (which looked out onto the open kitchen) and was chatting with the staff, they sent over a complimentary serving of the vegetables of the day, cauliflower and brussel sprouts, both perfectly crisped. Yum. IMG_8718I probably finished half of the steak and half of the veggies (it was a lot) and was sad to leave the rest, as it was all very good.

 

 

 

One thought on “Knife, Dallas

  1. Knife, The Highland Hotel, Dallas, Texas – alwaystimeforlunch

Leave a Reply

