Detox 2015!!!! – Part 1

You may remember that I followed a terrible, terrible detox regime last year for two weeks in January. Feeling about the same before starting this one, I felt that it was time for another reset – and when is better than the beginning of the year? (And, honestly, when do you have time to lay low like that except for the beginning of the year?)

BUT I received some good news before starting. My “friend” Michelle (is she really a friend if she’s getting you to detox?) who originally introduced me to the detox and who is also doing it again this year sent me a revised list of foods. Which includes many more vegetables than I limited myself to last year. Whew.

You can also have:

Spices and herbs: turmeric, chilis, basil

Vegetables: swede, turnip, endive, string beans, cauliflower, leeks, and watercress.

So I have been trying out a few new recipes this time. My chicken soup (check out last year’s detox) has been a favourite again, as it’s filling and warm!

But I’ve also come up with a few more recipes/permutations of all these ingredients. I have been eating seabass quite a few times, and have a few versions that I like:

STEAMED SEABASS FILET WITH GARLIC AND GINGER

I finally found a reason to use the Asian steamer that I recently bought… this might not be dim sum but it still looks delicious! I chopped up about two table spoons of ginger, two garlic cloves, and stuff half into the fish, putting the other half in the steaming water. Let the fish steam for 6-7 minutes, until steamed through

IMG_7968

IMG_7971

It made a nice accompaniment to charred leeks, fresh spinach, and a watercress soup.

WATERCRESS SOUP

The first day of the detox, I made my own vegetable stock; you get  really cold when you’re detoxing, so all you want is something warm to eat or drink. But just pureeing vegetables in water doesn’t make the most flavourful soup… and when you can’t use salt, you don’t have many other options! So, I made a big batch and froze it.

Stock:

add to a boiling pot of water: three carrots, one onion, four celery sticks, all loosely chopped (you aren’t going to eat those vegetables), tablespoon of thyme, and 1-2 bay leaves. Let simmer for an hour.

The soup: simmer a package of watercress (or a large bunch) in stock until softened (10 mins max). Blend and puree.

Now, I found that this soup was still pretty bland, so I ended up adding a tablespoon of chopped coriander and two tablespoons of lime juice.

MICHELLE’S ROSEMARY ROASTED SEABASS

IMG_7990

This was a great recipe that I ate many times last year.

Ingredients: seabass filet, one clove of garlic (sliced), tablespoon of rosemary, small knob of butter, tablespoon of lemon juice, parchment paper or tin foil

Heat the oven to 180 (fan) or 200.

Prepare the fish in the parchment or tin foil: top with the slices of garlic, rosemary, and divide up the butter into small bits along the fish. Add a bit of water and the lemon juice over the fish before closing the package.

Roast for 12 minutes, then once out of the oven, let wait in the package for 5 minutes before eating.

IMG_7988WHOLE ROASTED SEABASS

IMG_7999

I couldn’t find any good fish at the supermarket, so bought a whole bass at the fishmonger. He scaled the fish for me and gutted it, but left it whole. I was planning on baking.

Ingredients: two inches of ginger (diced into small pieces), two cloves of garlic (diced), juice of one lime, and half a chili. One whole (gutted and scaled) seabass.

Pre-heat the oven at 180 (fan) or 200.

Mix the first four ingredients, mashing them as you go. Once you get a paste (mine wasn’t a smooth paste, more of a jumbled mix), score the sides of the fish (I made four slices) and add the mixture to those holes, stuffing the rest into the cavity of the fish.

I baked my fish in tin foil, covering the whole fish up. Let cook for 30 minutes. Let rest for 5 minutes once out of the oven before uncovering.

 

 

Leave a Reply

