Pier A, Battery Park, New York

On my Sunday in New York, I met my friends John Paul and Ashley, and their little guy Andy for brunch. We met downtown at the new Pier A, which had been in construction for the past year or so… and finally opened a few days ago.

The entire building has been renovated – there is a lower-key downstairs oyster bar and restaurant that have just opened, and a higher end restaurant is set to open on the second floor in January.

photo 1 (1)

We started off with the fried calamari. The batter must have been mixed with either seltzer or beer, as it was light and fluffy. I’m constantly wishing that my calamari wasn’t so fried.. and this one was perfect, light and fluffy. With some chopped pickles mixed directly into the mix. With a thick aioli to match. This is some of the best fried calamari I’ve had in ages.

photo 2 (1)

Then, we got some fried oyster sliders… There was a bit too much bun for the amount of oysters, but the slice of pickle to add was a nice touch. And again, you could taste the oyster through the fried bits… perfect.

photo 3 (1)

Then, we got some chicken tenders. These were mostly for Andy and I stuck to eating the fries… At this point I was getting a bit fried out.

photo 4 (1)

And finally, our spicy buffalo wings. Well cooked but not too much, with a blue cheese dressing and celery sticks on the side. I wolfed these down.

photo 5

So, would I come back? Definitely. There was an oyster gratinee, a mac and cheese, and a long list at the raw bar that I still want to try. But perhaps it’s a better evening or bar-type menu than a lunch place.  But with water views, a huge sitting space and friendly staff, this place is sure to become a neighbourhood favourite soon!

 

Leave a Reply

