John’s Kitchen, Malibu, California

I have a really good friend from university that lives in LA… so when I was booking the weekend, I just assumed he’d be around the whole time. I kind of forgot about Yom Kippur… so had a quiet Friday night (actually very needed).

Saturday, after my run and breakfast, I met Michael at my hotel and off we went! We drove along the PCH up to Malibu and caught up on everything that had been happening in the past four years (neither of us is very good at keep in touch). But that’s the thing about good friends, you just pick up again where you left off, and it feels like no time has passed.

We grabbed lunch at one of his favourite sandwich places, John’s Kitchen. I’ve been dreaming about the Shroomburger at Shake Shack for a while now, so decided to get the mushroom burger for lunch. It was HUGE.

 

photo 3 (2) photo 4 (2)

 

It was no Shroomburger (fried with melted cheese injected inside) but was really good. And healthy on a wheat roll with avocado, tomato and lettuce.

All the sandwiches come with an orange slice on the side… it reminded me of my high school soccer days, but what a great and healthy sweet ending to the meal!

After lunch, on to the beach! We found a beach in Malibu lined with some of the most amazing houses (built by some of the most amazing architects)… The beach was also really quiet, we probably saw five people the whole time! A unicorn of a beach, we spent the whole afternoon there!

Leave a Reply

