Common Table, Dallas, Texas

My final day in Dallas, I was recommended the Common Table before heading to the airport. After driving around the city to several meetings, seeing the sites… photo 5I stopped at the Common Table and instantly picked a table outside, as the weather was sunny and warm.

photo 2

Checking out the menu, I loved how there’s a wine and beer selection for every line item… Well done. photo 1

 

I ended up ordering the scallops with yellow curry and the thai chili-citrus salad. It was really good. I scarfed it down. The scallops were huge and tender, and there wasn’t too little of a rice to scallop to salad ratio.

photo 3 (1)

 

Afterwards I couldn’t resist dessert… the homemade donuts with a coffee creme dipping sauce. When they came, I thought that I couldn’t possibly have half the plate… and ate the entire thing.

photo 4 (1)

A few hours later, I was at the airport, waiting for my flight to Houston, and felt a hand on my shoulder. It was my friend Bill! Bill lived in London until a few years ago, and works in the same business… but also happened to go to the same high school as me! And just recently moved back to the NY state area. So you can see how running into eachother on a Dallas to Houston flight might be weird…

Well, the flight was delayed an hour, so guess who I got to catch up with?!

photo 5 (1)

By the way, one of the coolest things about my job (as opposed to the constant flight delays on the downside) is the potential investors I meet with them. Some have great art collections. While I tend to favour more contemporary art, check this gem out. All these women hanging out in the park drinking and smoking and having a good time… why have we never seen this painting before? Gotta love a private collection!

photo 4

 

2 thoughts on “Common Table, Dallas, Texas

  1. Mixt Greens, San Francisco – alwaystimeforlunch

  2. Nerai, New York (again!) – alwaystimeforlunch

Leave a Reply

