The Modern Pantry, Clerkenwell

Yesterday, I met my father for lunch, as he was in town for a conference. Clerkenwell is one of those neighbourhoods where I have a long list of restaurants that I want to try (Soho is another).

I’ve visited the Modern Pantry in Kings Cross before for brunch, but was excited to taste it’s regular food, especially in the original restaurant. And it did not disappoint. Wow, one of the best dishes I’ve had in a while, and my father agreed.

He had the lamb with greens over lentils, with a pesto on top. The lamb was cooked perfectly and the other flavours all gelled together well.photo (4)

I went for the pork belly over the chorizo grits, with kale and a green pepper relish. Yum. The smoky chorizo flavour in the grits, along with the green pepper relish, cut the fatty and creamy tastes of the grits and pork belly (super tender with a very crispy crust).

photo (5)

I’m not sure what else to say. It was just delicious. This is definitely a place to visit when in the neighbourhood, but is also worth the trip to Clerkenwell!

One thought on “The Modern Pantry, Clerkenwell

  1. Taste of London 2015 – alwaystimeforlunch

Leave a Reply

