A Quick and Simple Vegetarian Lunch

After my mother left, I felt like I wouldn’t need to eat for weeks. We had been going out for almost every meal, and I needed a rest. When I need a rest, I tend to go for light and simple. I made a quick vegetarian stew (is it a stew if it hasn’t been stewing for hours?), poured over quinoa, topped with avocado for a creamy taste, and garnished with coriander/cilantro. Warm, hearty and tasty.

image

Ok, the “recipe” for this stew is quite easy and has four ingredients: garlic, kale, cannellini beans and a can of tomatoes.

Brown the garlic in a small pot until fragrant, then add in the beans and coat. After 2-3 minutes, add in the canned tomatoes. When they have heated up, add in as much kale as you like (I tend to add one chopped cup per serving, as it cooks down quickly). Let the kale cook down, and then, well, you’re done. Very easy. I like to add a little red pepper flake to the mix, to give it a bit of a kick.

Serve alone or over rice, quinoa or polenta.

Leave a Reply

