Terroirs, Covent Garden

This is one of my favourite lunch spots, I can’t believe that I haven’t blogged about it yet! I met a friend here for lunch yesterday – looking back, it wasn’t the best idea, as this friend happens to be pregnant… and Terroirs is all about meats and cheeses. But we made do quite well!

IMG_0948

We started off with the Apenzeller cheese, which my friend could eat as it is hard cheese. It had a similar taste to Comte.

IMG_0949

After this, we had the langoustines. My lucky friend got one with tons of roe… which I proceeded to eat over bread when she didn’t want to!

IMG_0950

The grilled squid with Borlotti beans, tomatoes and shallots was amazing… the broth had a great depth, the squid was perfectly cooked, and the beans gave a good heartiness to the dish.

IMG_0951

Grilled vegetables with fresh goat curd – my friend stayed away from the curd and I devoured it…

Typically, I like to have a glass of wine (or share a carafe) but today was not the day  – not only did my lunch mate not want a drink, but I had four meetings to look forward to in the afternoon. The wine list at Terroirs is impressive, and the staff is quite knowledgeable – they have recommended new wines many times, and everytime, I’ve been happy with their suggestions. This is the perfect place for a lunch or dinner of small plates, mostly hearty, and a great glass of wine.

Thank you so much to my generous, thoughtful friend that invited me to lunch after seeing how stressed I was… it was such a treat and I definitely chilled out over the course of the lunch!

One thought on “Terroirs, Covent Garden

  1. Terroirs, Covent Garden – alwaystimeforlunch

Leave a Reply

